Prof dr. H. Smidt 

Heads the Molecular Microbial Ecology Group at the Laboratory of Microbiology of Wageningen University, where research aims to identify, understand and predict structure, dynamics and functionality of diverse natural and man-made microbial ecosystems.

Dr. A.A.M. Langenhoff 

Is Associate Professor at the Department of Environmental Technology of Wageningen University, a group that has a strong background in research and development of natural technologies for recovery and reuse, e.g. bio-crystallisation, bio-retention, bio-electrochemistry and bio-degradation of pollutants.

Dr. R. Kleerebezem 

Is Associate Professor at the Department of Biotechnology at Delft University of Technology, a group which is worldwide leading in research on cultivation, system analysis and functional development of microbial ecosystems.

Dr. P.J. Schaap 

Leads the Computational Biology group at the Laboratory of Systems and Synthetic Biology of Wageningen University, a multidisciplinary team with experts in the fields of Genomics, Bioinformatics and Applied Statistics.

Dr. G. R. Stouten 

Is postdoc at the Department of Biotechnology, and is expert in parallel cultivation of microbial communities.

Dr. J.J. Koehorst 

Is a staff member of the Computational Biology group, is an expert in FAIR data approaches to large scale genomics, and has obtained hands-on experience in applying Semantic Web technology in the Life Science domain.

Prof. dr. ir. T.J.G. Ettema 

Has recently started as the new Chair of the Laboratory of Microbiology (January 2019) and heads the Microbial Evolution Group. He is an EMBO Young Investigator, and he recently obtained an ERC Consolidator grant for studying new groups of uncultured anaerobic archaea.


For any questions please email